Learn to play guitar, free, easy, step by step

Guitar Major scales

Before I begin with how to construct a guitar major scales, know this as a constant, there are only twelve notes in existence. C C#/Db, D, D#/ Eb, E, F, F#/Gb, G, G#/Ab, A, A#/Bb, B, C. This is called a chromatic scale which includes every note known. Because a chromatic scales consists entirely of half steps. Finally, just take note that there isn’t an E# or Fb, B# or Cb.

For example: In ascending order, C to C# is a half step, C# to D is a half step, D to D# is a half step, etc. And also in reverse descending order, C to B is a half step (note that there isn’t a Cb or B#), B to Bb is a half step, Bb to A is a half step, etc.

A scale is comprised of a whole (w) and half (h) steps. The term scale comes from the Latin word scala which means ladder. An easy way to remember this is that a scale climbs like a ladder of notes. If we use a C major scale as an example while referencing the chromatic scale, the major scale construct will be easier to understand. A scale is comprised of 8 steps which can be either whole or half steps.

Example: C D E F G A B C. C to D is a whole step, D to E is a whole step, E to F is a half step, F to G is a whole step, G to A is a whole step, A to B is a whole step, B to C is a half step. Notice that the half steps occur where the notes don’t exist (E#, Fb, B#, and Cb).
Our major scale formula is this: WWHWWWH. Memorize it! Find more about guitar fretboard notes here!

What are the guitar major scales?

C Major Scale: C D E F G A B C ( 0 sharp, 0 flat)
G Major Scale: G A B C D E F# G ( 1 sharp, f#)
D Major Scale: D E F# G A B C# D ( 2 sharp, f#, g#)
A Major Scale: A B C# D E F# G# A ( 3 sharp, f#, g#, c#)
E Major Scale: E F# G# A B C# D# E ( 4 sharp, f#, g#, c#, d#)
B Major Scale: B C# D# E F# G# A# B ( 5 sharp, f#, g#, c#, d#, a#)
F# Major Scale: F# G# A# B C# D# E# F# ( 6 sharp, f#, g#, c#, d#, a#, e#)

C# Major Scale: C# D# E# F# G# A# B# C#) ( All sharp)
F Major Scale: F G A Bb C D E F ( 1 flab, Bb)
Bb Major Scale: Bb C D Eb F G A Bb ( 2 flat, Bb, Eb)
Eb Major Scale: Eb F G Ab Bb C D Eb ( 3 flat, Bb, Eb, Ab)
Ab Major Scale: Ab Bb C Db Eb F G Ab ( 4 flat, Bb, Eb, Ab, Db)
Db Major Scale: Db Eb F Gb Ab Bb C Db ( 5 flat, Bb, Eb, Ab, Db, Gb)
Gb Major Scale: Gb Ab Bb Cb Db Eb F Gb ( 6 flat, Bb, Eb, Ab, Db, Gb, Cb)
Cb Major Scale: Cb Db Eb Fb Gb Ab Bb Cb ( All flat)

Circle of fifths, guitar major scales

Below is something known as the circle of fifths. This is a wheel of information that will aid you in scale construction, key signatures, and note names. Helpful hints: When you are trying to figure out which note will be sharp, look to the previous note on the wheel beginning with F (F C G A E B). A Gmaj. The scale has 1 # which is F#, etc. When you are trying to figure out which note will be flatted next, look to the next note beginning with B (B E A D G Cb). An F major. Scale has 1 b which is Bb, etc

guitar major scales circle of fifths

One Response to Guitar Major scales, learn to play major scales on guitar

Leave a Reply